Susan Taylor

Bear in Mind

It’s the words I get to speak,
and the poems I sometimes write
that have made me as strong as I am

and as for words spoken to me
many of these give me strength
but others weaken me so.

All harsh embittered words
work as acid in the iron environment
of thought and lie corroding there.

It’s easy not to write of everyday
threats like these, but then the magical
tank of the brain isn’t flushed.

Perhaps the best flush is immediate,
blurting what hurts inside out,
along with hot waterfalls of tears.

Tears are a wonder of the world
of our own making. Stand up for them,
stand under them. Understand them.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

